Menu‎ > ‎

Our District

UCISD consists of 1,093 square miles in Uvalde, Real and Zavala counties. Located in the city of Uvalde are two secondary campuses; Uvalde High School Morales Junior High and Flores Middle School. There are four elementary campuses and a Pre-K thru 6th grade school in Batesville which is located in Zavala County, 20 miles south of Uvalde.
Located 82 miles west of San Antonio, Uvalde’s economy is based on agriculture and minerals production. The area is served by Southwest Texas Junior College, Sul Ross State University Rio Grande College, and Texas A&M Research and Extension Center.
The first school in Uvalde was developed about 1856, when the city of Uvalde was founded. Uvalde High School held its first graduation in 1891.
The Batesville School opened in 1884. The students now attend school in Batesville through the sixth grade. The Batesville High School students have attended Uvalde High School since 1949, but Batesville officially consolidated with Uvalde in 1973.

Uvalde Coyotes Logo